Solano Transportation Authority Safe Routes to School

mapping tool
Upcoming Events Questions?

Contact Us
(707) 399-3222 or

About Us

Safe Routes to School Plan Update 2013

Safe Routes to School – Your Kids. Your School. Your Community.

The number of children who walk or bike to school in the US has steadily decreased over the last 50 years.  At the same time communities, including Solano County, are seeing increases in traffic around schools, air pollution, and increased childhood obesity. To help address these problems, the Solano Transportation Authority (STA) launched the Solano County Safe Routes to School program in 2008.  In partnership with Solano County Public Health, the program brings together city planners, traffic engineers, law enforcement, educators and parents to create safer, less congested routes to school.

SR2S programs can:

  • Increase the number of children walking and biking to school safely
  • Reduce traffic congestion and improve air quality around schools
  • Increase daily physical activity levels and reduce obesity and other health risks
  • Improve academic performance among children

The SR2S program offers a wide range of FREE programs, activities and events for schools. Click the "For Schools" Tab for more information. 

Successful SR2S programs include elements of each of the 6 E’s:

  1. Education – ensures children, parents and the community know how to walk, bike & drive safely.
  2. Engineering – makes sure the streets & sidewalks around schools are built for safety.
  3. Encouragement – makes it fun for children, parents & the community to walk & bike.
  4. Enforcement – ensures traffic laws & school policies are followed.
  5. Evaluation – checks the progress of the program & makes changes as needed.
  6. Engagement emphasizes the importance of involving schools, parents, youth & other key stakeholders in the process to ensure program sustainability. 

Safe Routes to School Advisory Committee

The Solano SR2S program is guided by the SR2S Advisory Committee comprised of community members from cities and disciplines within Solano County. The committee recommends funding for projects and programs to the Solano Transportation Authority (STA) Board. Members include:

  • Jim Antone (Chair), Yolo-Solano Air Quality Management District
  • Andrew White (Vice-Chair), Suisun City Police Department
  • Garland Wong, City of Fairfield
  • Lisette Estrella-Henderson, Solano County Superintendent of Schools
  • Mitchell Romao, Vallejo City USD
  • Gwen Owens, City of Vacaville
  • Lt. Damiean Sylvester, Benicia Police Department
  • Kevin McNamara, STA Pedestrian Advisory Committee
  • Mike Segala, STA Bicycle Advisory Committee
  • Robin Cox, Solano County Public Health

Find past and future SR2S meeting agendas on the STA’s Calendar.